I Can Afford a Vacation, But My Life Won’t Let Me!

Everyone I know and work with talks about and fantasizes about their ideal vacation. One wants to go on a $3,000, 2-week train ride across the American West. Other’s have more “conventional” ideas — theme parks, going to the beach, etc.

What I want to do is a bit more complicated, yet simple. I want to take 2 months off from work, June-July and rent a cheap room in Dallas, Georgia close to the Silver Comet Trail. All I want to do is spend two months riding the trail, spend the evenings reading and catching up on symphonies I’ve wanted to hear for years but haven’t found the time for. That’s it. I figure I could do this for around $2,000…

Rent: $500/month
Food: $200/month
Incidentals: $300/month

I grew up in Dallas, Georgia and the Silver Comet Trail is a very special place to me. I’ve literally told my partner that I want my ashes scattered there.

Image

I have many memories invested in that place. Maybe after two months I’d get tired of it? Well good, that means I’ll have gotten it out of my system.

This is a place that draws me like a magnet. I could stay with my parents (they’re fairly close to the trail) and pay them rent (if they’d accept it) but I really don’t want to be “underfoot.” I’d like my own place.

I’m use to living simply, and this would be a simple vacation. Renting a room in Dallas is cheap; $200/month is more than what I spend on food now. My only other monthly expenses are a $15 cell phone, $40~ car insurance, $57 health insurance and gas for my car. That leaves plenty for possible bike repairs and other unknowns.

I have $2,000, I’m not bragging, but I have way more than that saved. Of course, $2,000 is a lot of money, but to me this would just make my whole year. I like my job, but for years now I’ve lived a totally nocturnal life in a city I don’t like. I go to bed at 10am and rarely getting up before 6pm. When I’m awake there’s nothing to do, all I do is work, eat, sleep, save money and workout. Last year I had one week off all year. At some point you have to ask yourself, what’s the point?

As far as losing two months pay, I’ve made my peace with that. I can afford to lose that and the $2,000 the vacation would cost me. But some things you just can’t put a price on. Life. Sanity.

The problem of course isn’t money; it’s that no one takes 2 months off. “Summer” is only a verb for the wealthy. The problem is that I work at a very small business where there’s only one other person to do my job, and they’re not always available, and my leaving would cause other complications. I’m pretty sure I could get 2 weeks in a row…maybe 3, I doubt it. I just hate having the money to afford something, yet I’m locked in a situation that doesn’t let me do what I want with it. I’d literally have to quit my job to do this. What’s the point of money if I can’t spend it how I want?

Everyone tells me they wouldn’t know what to do with themselves if they had more than one week off. To me that’s a very American reaction, my job isn’t my life, I work to live, not vice versa. I guess I’m more capable of entertaining myself, I’ve got way too much reading and music to catch up on.

Well, until I get my dream vacation, I’ve managed to get one week off, the first week of next month in fact. Combined with Monday-Wednesday I usually have off, that’s ten days. Well, it’s something at least.

If there’s anyone out in Dallas, Georgia with a little room to rent to a quiet young man for $500/month, lemme know!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

